Onboarding and offboarding employees

When an employee joins or leaves your company there is often a checklist of things you need to do to ensure they are fully and properly processed in accordance with company and legal requirements - to do this you can use onboarding and offboarding.

Setting up onboarding/offboarding at a company level

For the purposes of this guide we are going to look at offboarding in more detail but onboarding works exactly the same way except, obviously, in the reverse scenario.

To use onboarding and offboarding you first need to set up the workflow you wish to you for each - these are contained under Administration > HR > Workflows > Onboarding (Legacy) steps and Administration > HR > Workflows Offboarding (Legacy) steps respectively.

For the purposes of this guide we are not going to cover how to actually add steps to the workflow - the only thing of note is the order field. This determines the order in which the items are listed in the employee file implying the order in which things should be done.

Below are sample workflows for onboarding and offboarding:

 

 

Using offboarding you can see, there are 7 steps and these are ordered 1,2,3,4,5,6,7 - if you wish to edit the name or description this is done in the usual way - by selecting the edit icon on the right hand side. If you want to edit the order then you can do so in one of two ways. You can either edit the item as normal and enter a new number in the order box - caution: if you enter 1,2,3,4 for example and you need to move item 2 between items 3 and 4 then this is very difficult as there is no number between them. For this reason it may be worth using 10,20,30,40 etc for your ordering. To move an item you simply need to set the order to higher than the item you want the item to be placed after and lower than that you wish it to be placed after.

For example, if you wanted to move item 2 above to the end then you can edit the item and enter any number greater than 4 for the the order and when you reload the table it will then be moved to the end of the list.

An alternate and easier way to re order items is to use drag and drop - you simply need to click the item you wish to move at which time the cursor will change from an arrow to a cross and drag it to its new location at which time the system will renumber all the entries to accommodate the new item.

 

When the items in the list are dropped into their new locations, the table will automatically update to show the new order. The system will also let you know all of the changes that have been made under the 'Event Result' above the table. 

Using onboarding/offboarding within the employee file

Like setting up onboarding and offboarding at a company level, the process for using these functions in the employee file is more or less identical; with this in mind, we will now go through the process of setting up offboarding against an employee file. The only difference between the two is how they are accessed; onboarding is accessed via the Employee module whereas, offboarding is applied via Leavers / Archived Employees and is only able to be used when an employee has been moved to a Leaver.

When you first access onboarding/offboarding you will see none of the workflow items - to add these you need to select 'Start' which indicates the start of the process. 

When you do so, each of items added at a company level will then be applied to the employee file for action along with some additional information regarding completion of the tasks.

At this time you can choose to delete items from the workflow if they are not relevant, you can edit items to either add more information or re-order list items.  You can also add additional items if there are steps needed for this individual not covered in the normal workflow.

To complete each step you need to click on the edit icon beside the step in question whereby you can enter some notes as well as completed date and the person who completed the task.

Once you submit the edit, the main page will then be updated with the information entered and this task will be considered complete.

As with setting up onboarding and offboarding at a company level you can re order items either by editing the item and changing the value in Order or dragging and dropping (see above for more information on reordering)

Reporting on onboarding and offboarding

Within reporting there are prebuilt reports for onboarding and offboarding - there are two reports:

  1. No onboarding/offboarding report
    1. This report simply shows those employees who have not had an onboarding or offboarding workflow assigned to their file
  2. Onboarding/offboarding progress report
    1. This report shows those employees who have had an onboarding or offboarding workflow assigned to their file and then shows the overall progress as a percentage - for example if there are 4 items in the workflow and two are completed (i.e. a completed date is entered) then the process is considered 50% complete.
Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.
Powered by Zendesk